Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

September 29, 2022

The Honorable Seileen Mullen Acting Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs Defense Health Agency 7700 Arlington Boulevard Suite 5101 Falls Church, VA 22042-5101

Dear Acting Assistant Secretary Mullen,

We write to request information regarding the Department of Defense Health Agency's (DHA) monitoring of TRICARE beneficiaries' access to retail and community pharmacies.

It has been brought to our attention that Express Scripts has reduced reimbursements for prescriptions dispensed at in-network retail pharmacies for 2023. These reductions may leave many retail pharmacies unable to participate in the TRICARE Pharmacy Program, thus significantly impacting 9.6 million TRICARE beneficiaries' access to local pharmacies. Most recently, Express Scripts notified pharmacies and beneficiaries that current 2022 pharmacy contracts will expire October 24, 2022, rather than the end of the year. This will only further reduce the pharmacy network for TRICARE patients and their families, and may force beneficiaries to change pharmacies at a time when many receive annual vaccinations.

Pharmacists continue to be one of the most accessible health care providers in the United States. Over 90 percent of Americans live within five miles of a community pharmacy, and 76.5 percent of pharmacies in rural areas are independent community pharmacies. As you know, in addition to dispensing medications and vaccines, community pharmacies provide services that lead to better health outcomes, lower overall administrative fees, and valuable in-person consultations with a healthcare provider.

To ensure TRICARE beneficiaries maintain access to local pharmacies, we respectfully request answers to the following questions.

- 1. How is DHA monitoring current and future retail pharmacy participation in the TRICARE Pharmacy program?
- 2. If future in-network pharmacy participation decreases, what steps will DHA take to ensure adequate access to in-person pharmacy services for TRICARE beneficiaries?
- 3. Terminating the 2022 pharmacy contracts two months ahead of schedule will likely lead to a disruption of care for TRICARE beneficiaries. What reasons has Express Scripts given DHA for terminating the 2022 contracts early? Please outline what oversight DHA has over Express Scripts, as well as what authority DHA has given Express Scripts to make these contract changes.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter. Due to the patient access and safety concerns expressed above, we look forward to receiving your response and working with you to

ensure TRICARE beneficiaries continue to receive the utmost care from trusted, local health care professionals.

Sincerely,

Tom Cotton

United States Senator

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Earl I bully Carte

Jol<mark>(</mark>n Thune

United States Senator

John Boozman

United States Senator

Charles E. Grassley

United States Senator

Steve Daines

United States Senator

Cyothia M. Lummis

United States Senator

Jerry Moran

United States Senator

Tommy Tuberville

United States Senator

Shelley Moore Capito

United States Senator

Bill Hagerty
United States Senator

Marsha Blackburn United States Senator

John Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator

Mike Braun
United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith
United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

Roger Marshall, M.D. United States Senator

James Lankford United States Senator

Deb Fischer

United States Senator

Mike Rogers
Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

James Comer Member of Congress

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarges

Mika Post

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress

Tom Cole Member of Congress

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Elise M. Sofank

John Ow Rose

John Rose

Joz Wilson

Joe Wilson

Member of Congress

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Sam Graves

Member of Congress

Ralph Norman

Member of Congress

Al Lawson

Member of Congress

Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen

Member of Congress

Austin Scott

Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress Dan Bishop Member of Congress

War Birling

French Him

French Hill

Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderholt

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

> Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Trent Kelly
Member of Congress

Doug Lambon

Doug Lamborn
Member of Congress

Barry Moore
Member of Congress

Lance Gooden
Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

neke of

Mayra Flores
Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

William R. Timmons IV Member of Congress

Pete Sessions Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Darrell Issa Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mariannette of Miclan Macker Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.

Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith

Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Julia Letlow

Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D.

Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin

Member of Congress

Cliff Bentz

Member of Congress

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M.

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart
Member of Congress

Robert J. Wittman
Member of Congress

Rolet & Willman

W. Gregory Steube

Member of Congress

Charles J. "Chuck"

Fleischmann

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer
Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Glenn Brothmun

H. Morgan Griffith Member of Congress Fred Keller Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Rick Zansen

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

50hn R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse

Marie Newman Member of Congress David P. Joyce Member of Congress

Member of Congress

am Motave fuston

Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger

Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney