Press Releases

Georgia Counties Eligible for Drought Disaster Assistance

f t # e
Washington, May 17, 2017 | comments
Congressman Earl L. "Buddy" Carter (GA-01) today announced that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Georgia counties as primary natural disaster areas due to the current drought. This designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), including FSA emergency loans. 

Counties included under this designation include Berrien, Brantley, Camden, Charlton, Clinch, Echols, Lowndes, Pierce, Ware, and Wayne. 

Additional counties have been named as contiguous disaster counties including Bacon, Glynn, Long, and McIntosh.

"This is absolutely welcome news to assist with this severe drought," said Carter. "Our farmers and agricultural community provide an indispensable service to our local community, as well as the entire nation, and I believe this will help to ensure they are able to continue this important work while dealing with this extreme situation. I am pleased this assistance is available and we are available and ready to assist with the process to ensure these resources are used in the best way possible."

According to the USDA, farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of the declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm, and the security and repayment ability of the operator. 

For more information, click here or contact your local FSA office. For assistance, call Carter's office at 912-265-9010.
f t # e