Skip to Content
Home | news | Press Releases

Press Releases

ICYMI: Carter, Entire Georgia Delegation File Resolution Congratulating UGA Bulldogs for College Football National Championship

WASHINGTON D.C. - Rep. Earl L. "Buddy" Carter (GA-01), along with the entire Georgia House delegation, introduced a bipartisan resolution led by Congresswoman Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14) to congratulate the University of Georgia on their National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship win. Georgia Senators Jon Ossoff and Rev. Raphael Warnock will introduce a companion Senate resolution.

“I’ve said it a million times this week, but it bears repeating - GO DAWGS. I was so proud of our team and especially proud of the 15 First District residents that helped end Athens’ forty-years long drought. A proud alum of the University of Georgia, I will not soon forget the intoxicating joy that filled Lucas Oil Stadium as Coach Smart lifted that trophy. Georgia has always been a state of Champions, and now we have the title to prove it,” said Carter.

“I am so excited to see the Georgia Bulldogs, my alma mater, end their 40-year drought and bring home a National Championship. I am glad that the entire Georgia Delegation could join me in congratulating the Bulldogs on their valiant victory over Alabama,” said Congresswoman Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14). “Go Dawgs!”

The Bulldogs, led by Head Coach Kirby Smart, completed an illustrious season in which they enjoyed a record of 14-1, defeating Nick Saban’s vaunted Alabama Crimson Tide squad. This victory marks the third College Football National Championship in school history and first championship in over 40 years.

The 2022 NCAA CFP National Championship was the 58th postseason bowl appearance, the 34th bowl victory, and second CFP appearance for the Bulldogs. The 2021–2022 team allowed an average of 6.9 points per game throughout the regular season and finished the regular season undefeated with a record of 12–0.
Coach Smart won his first National Championship in his sixth year leading the team and has led the Bulldogs to one Southeastern Conference (SEC) Championship and two CFP appearances. This victory extends the record of Coach Smart to 66 wins and 15 losses during his tenure at Georgia.

The Georgia Congressional delegation congratulates the Bulldogs for an exemplary season and recognizes the achievements of all players, coaches, and staff who contributed to the championship campaign. Go Dawgs!

The following statements were released by fellow members of the Georgia delegation:
“Congratulations to the talented young men that put their all into the game and to Head Coach Kirby Smart and the entire coaching staff for leading the Georgia Bulldogs to a monumental win. Go Dawgs!” said Rep. Andrew Clyde (GA-09).
“I am so thrilled for the Georgia Bulldogs,” Rep. Lucy McBath (GA-06) said. “Led by a walk-on quarterback, dominant defensive players, and a former UGA football player coaching for his alma mater, this historic team thrilled fans all season long and made our state proud. Their championship win is truly a testament to the hard work, dedication, and commitment to excellence that was the focus of this team since before the season began. Go Dawgs!”
“It's a great day to be a Georgia Bulldog! I express my deepest congratulations to the Georgia Bulldogs on their historic Championship victory over Alabama. GO DAWGS!” said Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08).

“I am happy to join my colleagues from the Georgia Congressional Delegation in adding our congratulations to the UGA football team on a spectacular season and national championship,” said Rep. Sanford Bishop (GA-02). “Their victory is a testament to hard work and dedication. It is also another accolade in a storied football program which enjoys the love and admiration of the people of our great state. Go Dawgs!”

Read the full text of the resolution here