Skip to Content
Home | news | Press Releases

Press Releases

Carter, Smith call on pharmacies to protect women’s health by refusing dangerous mail-order chemical abortion prescriptions

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Following Rite Aid, Walgreens, and CVS Pharmacy announcing that they plan to become certified to dispense the chemical abortion drug mifepristone, Reps. Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (R-GA) and Chris Smith (R-NJ) led 36 House Republicans in a letter calling on the companies to protect the health and safety of women and unborn children.

In the
letter, the members write: “We are deeply disappointed by your organization’s announcement that it has applied to become certified to dispense the chemical abortion drug mifepristone. There is substantial evidence that mifepristone harms women and girls, and your organization’s choice to dispense it for the sole purpose of killing the unborn child of a woman known to be pregnant violates your organization’s mission of protecting public health by ensuring the safe use of pharmaceuticals.”

The members continue: “Federal law…provides criminal penalties prohibiting the sending or receiving of any drug that is ‘designed, adapted, or intended for producing abortion’ using the mail or interstate shipment…We seek acknowledgement from your organization regarding the relevant federal and state laws and specific information about how it intends to comply with them.”

Co-signors include: Reps. Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH), Dan Crenshaw (R-TX), Mike Bost (R-IL), Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Bob Latta (R-OH), Jim Banks (R-IN), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Diana Harshbarger (R-TN), Mike Kelly (R-PA), Cory Mills (R-FL), Jerry Carl (R-AL), Mark Alford (R-MO), Lauren Boebert (R-CO), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Mike Ezell (R-MS), Andrew Clyde (R-GA), Keith Self (R-TX), David Rouzer (R-NC), James Moylan (R-GU), Bill Posey (R-FL), Greg Steube (R-FL), Claudia Tenney (R-NY), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), August Pfluger (R-TX), Brian Babin (R-TX), Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Bob Good (R-VA), Clay Higgins (R-LA), Alex Mooney (R-MD), Scott Franklin (R-FL), Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Eric Burlison (R-MO), Drew Ferguson (R-GA), and Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA).

Senators James Lankford (R-OK) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS) led a companion letter in the Senate.

Read the full letter here.