Skip to Content
Home | news | Press Releases

Press Releases

Carter leads Republican rebuke of Mexico's energy power grab

WASHINGTON, D.C. – House Republicans are calling on the Biden Administration to defend American businesses amidst the Mexican government’s efforts to nationalize its energy sector by seizing American-owned assets and cancelling permits in violation of the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA).

In a letter to key Biden Administration officials, 40 House Republicans led by Congressman Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (R-GA) made clear the U.S. government must take a more active role in defending American businesses operating in Mexico.

“It’s time for this President and this Administration to put American workers, jobs, and businesses first,” said Carter. “Unfortunately, President Biden is once again projecting weakness and Mexico is capitalizing on it to hurt American interests operating there.”

In addition to harming American interests, Carter and his colleagues note the actions are harmful to the environment.

“[President Andres Manuel López Obrador] and his party have championed regulatory and legislative efforts that have been ruled to be anti-competitive and harmful to the environment by Mexican courts. As such, they are also harmful to U.S. investment, American workers, and the North American commitment to sustainability – all of which are concepts that are protected by the USMCA,” the letter reads.

“We urge [the Biden Administration] to elevate efforts to press Mexican authorities to stop discriminatory actions and provide U.S. companies operating in or trading with Mexico a level playing field, as envisioned by USMCA.”

Joining Carter in signing the letter were U.S. Representatives David B. Mckinley, Clay Higgins, Jeff Duncan, Brett Guthrie, Michael T. McCaul, Mike Johnson, Lisa McClain, Doug Lamborn, Guy Reschenthaler, Bruce Westerman, Randy Weber, Bill Posey, Dan Newhouse, Bill Huizenga, Madison Cawthorn, Markwayne Mullin, Eric A. "Rick" Crawford, Stephanie Bice, David Rouzer, Dan Crenshaw, Brian Mast, Gus M. Bilirakis, Brian Babin, French Hill, Greg Pence, Steve Womack, Barry Moore, Julia Letlow, Debbie Lesko, Billy Long, Kelly Armstrong, H. Morgan Griffith, John R. Curtis, Steve Chabot, Ralph Norman, Richard Hudson, Garret Graves, Larry Bucshon, and John R. Moolenaar. 

The text of the letter can be found here.